What is this Satire Thing, and What is the Point of it?

sayitin500

Recently while on Twitter I saw someone had tweeted:

“I hate posh people”

I responded to this, stating that I did not believe it was funny and was unhelpful because I saw it as unnecessarily attacking a group. On reflection, I possibly took it to much to heart as I am sometimes called posh myself, and yet:

  1. I’m a crazy Lefty and member of the Green Party
  2. I’m NHS frontline staff
  3. I give as much to charity each month as I feel I can
  4. I’ve never tried caviar; Beluga or any other variety.

I still stand by initial thought that was not funny and the reason why is because I see it as attempted and failed satire.

Though targeting a person, this targets the hypocrisy of the leader of a political party supporting a corporation his party have done so much to attack. Though targeting a person, this targets the hypocrisy of the leader of a political party supporting a corporation his party have done so much to attack.

Satire is a joke that points at…

View original post 458 more words

Leave a Reply

